US Treasury adds four Tron addresses to Iran central bank sanctions record

US Treasury adds four Tron addresses to Iran central bank sanctions record

The July 14 OFAC record names six Tron addresses in total, but reports no wallet balance, seizure, or Tether freeze.

The US Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) updated its sanctions record on July 14, 2026, for Iran’s central bank, Bank Markazi. The update added four Tron blockchain addresses to the two already listed for the bank.

The record links Bank Markazi to the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps Qods Force and Hizballah. It now displays six Tron addresses under the same existing listing. OFAC described this as a change to its list of sanctioned parties, not a new seizure announcement.

Advertisement

What the address update does and does not say

The public record identifies blockchain addresses that sanctions-screening teams can match against transactions. It does not state the wallets’ token balances, name USDT as the asset held at those addresses, or report that Tether froze funds. It also does not substantiate the previously reported $130 million or $131 million freeze, or a $165 million transaction total.

That distinction matters: adding an address to a sanctions listing and freezing tokens at that address are separate events. The first is documented here. The second would require its own evidence.

Separate action against Iranian exchanges

In an earlier June 2 action, OFAC added Iranian digital asset exchanges including Nobitex and Bitpin to its sanctions list. That was a separate designation, not proof of a July token freeze involving Bank Markazi’s Tron addresses.

The July update is relevant to crypto because it names specific public-chain addresses in a sanctions record. Readers can inspect the original OFAC entry for the exact address strings and the bank’s listed associations.

Disclosure: This article was edited by Editorial Team. For more information on how we create and review content, see our Editorial Policy.
US Treasury adds four Tron addresses to Iran central bank sanctions record
US Treasury adds four Tron addresses to Iran central bank sanctions record

The July 14 OFAC record names six Tron addresses in total, but reports no wallet balance, seizure, or Tether freeze.

The US Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) updated its sanctions record on July 14, 2026, for Iran’s central bank, Bank Markazi. The update added four Tron blockchain addresses to the two already listed for the bank.

The record links Bank Markazi to the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps Qods Force and Hizballah. It now displays six Tron addresses under the same existing listing. OFAC described this as a change to its list of sanctioned parties, not a new seizure announcement.

Advertisement

What the address update does and does not say

The public record identifies blockchain addresses that sanctions-screening teams can match against transactions. It does not state the wallets’ token balances, name USDT as the asset held at those addresses, or report that Tether froze funds. It also does not substantiate the previously reported $130 million or $131 million freeze, or a $165 million transaction total.

That distinction matters: adding an address to a sanctions listing and freezing tokens at that address are separate events. The first is documented here. The second would require its own evidence.

Separate action against Iranian exchanges

In an earlier June 2 action, OFAC added Iranian digital asset exchanges including Nobitex and Bitpin to its sanctions list. That was a separate designation, not proof of a July token freeze involving Bank Markazi’s Tron addresses.

The July update is relevant to crypto because it names specific public-chain addresses in a sanctions record. Readers can inspect the original OFAC entry for the exact address strings and the bank’s listed associations.

Disclosure: This article was edited by Editorial Team. For more information on how we create and review content, see our Editorial Policy.